Burak & Musica Sequenza explore an extraordinary way of listening, meant to serve as an invitation to dream. While listening to 17 uninterrupted pieces, the audience is sent into a trance-like state, where their passive participation becomes part of the merging artwork. All of these pieces conjure dreamy states. Ideas become fluid and flexible. The world around you fades into a gentler place.

Burak’s passion for spiritual music, reflected in his essential projects „Bach : The Silent Cantata“ and “Bach : Atlas Passion”, is now expanded in an exquisite modern form, where an utopian audio-visual landscape surrounds the reclining listeners. OPIUM is an interactive modality, whereby the audience connects to their inner self, to the energy of the other participants and to the immersive architectural space, created by the musical and visual elements.

Compositionally it combines baroque music with today’s new age lyricism. In OPIUM the music grows into a tender and pervasive part of the total environment, almost like a lullaby, these sonic motions gather in a virtual cloud, transporting the listeners and making them feel like they are living inside this utopian world. The work is committed to people of today and the torrent of information that many of us face every day. We all have to make multiple choices, so that our minds are pushed to the limits, OPIUM becomes a pause and a place for us to re-calibrate. It’s a place, in which the listeners can settle for a while and emerge, when they are ready to rejoin the restive world.

World Premiere on 15 May 2021 at the International BachFest Schaffhausen.


Available on Vinyl & Digital

Tacet Nota 2021

Burak Özdemir. artistic director & bassoon
Diana Ramirez . soprano
Annie Gard . violin
Kaori Kobayashi . violin
Chang Yun Yoo . viola
Linda Mantcheva . cello
Mirjam Wittulski . bass
Daniel Trumbull . organ
Charlie Zhang . lute
Daniel Mulder . artwork
Justus Beyer . sound
Burcu Özdemir . costume & visuals
Alessandro Seggioli . production


01 Sylvius Leopold Weiss
Fantasia in c minor

02 Johann Sebastian Bach
Wir furchtsam wankten meine Schritte BWV33

03 Johann Sebastian Bach
Suscepit Israel BWV243

04 Johann Joseph Fux
Grave & Adagio of Sonata K366

05 Johann Joseph Fux
Lascio Desser Ninfa

06 Burak Özdemir
Fata Morgana

07 Johann Adam Birkenstock
Sonata VIII for Violin

08 Johann Sebastian Bach
Komm Süsses Kreuz BWV1012

09 Johann Pachelbel

10 Dietrich Buxtehude
Muss der Tod

11 Johann Sebastian Bach
Sarabande BWV1009

12 Burak Özdemir
Moroccan Dream

13 Johann Christoph Pez
Adagio of Sonata VIII

14 Johann Sebastian  Bach
Mein Tröster ist nicht mehr bei mir BWV247

15 Burak Özdemir